About Us


Sarawak Women For Women Society (SWWS)

SWWS is a non-governmental, non-profit organization dedicated to promote women’s equality and elimination of violence against women and children. The beginnings of the Society go dated back in 1984 when a group of concerned women got together then the following year in July, SWWS was officially registered.

Among the pioneers were Hew Cheng Sim, Ling How Kee, Beverley Cox, Valerie Mashman, Margaret Bedus and Fiona Masing. Then State Minister for Welfare, Datuk Hafsah Harun, assisted the group in its registration as she shared the view that there was an urgent need for a women’s NGO to be formed to specifically look at and address women’s issues.

The group decided to open a crisis phone line and organize training for the task. During that time there are limited financial support, venue and staff then Molly Chong, the headmistress of St. Teresa offered a classroom in the evenings to hold the first training sessions.

After that, Datuk Hafsah Harun helped us by offering free, temporary use of an old school building which built by her family at the back of their house near Satok Bridge. It became our first base for several years. It was here we congregated, had our meetings, planned the programmes, developed our resource centre and organized our famous ‘pot lucks’. It was here in 1988, that the Women Crisis Phone Line (CPL) was launched. It became the first phoneline service run solely by volunteers to act as a listening ear for women in distress.

As the programmes and visions expanded, the group felt that the needs to move to a more central location. Therefore, in 1993, SWWS shifted to the 1st Floor of the Sarawak Teachers’ Union (STU) building in Rock Road. Later in the same year SWWS opened our Drop- in Centre which was launched by our guest of honour, Yang Berhormat Puan Rohani Bt Karim. The new premises however proved to be a bit cramped, and also needed by STU, so in 1994 SWWS shifted a few blocks away to the present Centre at Lot 1610, 2nd Floor, Rock Road, Kuching.

Today, we have gained the confidence of the State Government and we receive funding from them to carry out most of our programmes.

SWWS 2016-2018 New Executive Committee

The Sarawak Women for Women Society (SWWS) elected its Executive Committee for 2016-2018 term during its Annual General Meeting (AGM) on 20th March 2016. The new line-up is as follows:

President: Margaret Bedus
Vice President: Ann Teo
Secretary: Joanne Lam
Assistant Secretary: Noor Azizah bte Chali
Treasurer: Ling Hui Yen
Assistant Treasurer: Noelle Lily Morse
Committee Members: Ita Ling, Gill Raja, Grace Sim,
Padi Chan, Jenny Sim